What’s In A Name?

Once I decided I wanted to start an Etsy shop, I had trouble thinking of a name that felt right.  I wanted it to incorporate something that was meaningful to me.  I toyed around with names relating to my two cats, or my favorite flower (red tulips), but nothing sounded good.  I didn’t want it to be something super corny or too obvious, like “Christina’s Crafts” – bleh.  I finally settled on Earl’s Courts Designs.
   
When I was a junior in college, I studied abroad in London for a semester.  I can say with certainty, that (at least so far), it was the happiest time in my life.  I got to explore beautiful cities and countries with incredible histories, meet amazing people that are still dear friends, learn invaluable lessons about life, and cliché as it sounds, found myself, despite being thousands of miles away from home.  Our flat in London (which I shared with 5 other girls, and 1 bathroom) was in the Earl’s Court neighborhood.  Earl’s Court was the tube station we hopped into whenever we were going out to eat, were all dolled up for a night on the town, going to do some posh shopping, or heading to Heathrow for a quick trip to another part of Europe. 
   
So, while its not related to the things I make or sell, its just a little nod to that faraway place that feels like another home to me.
   
A few pictures from my time across the pond…
   
Our street
   
Big Ben of course
    
Coumeenole Beach in Ireland
   
Tower Bridge
    
Paris
     
Colosseum
    

*sorry they’re blurry – they are from a long time ago before I had a nice camera…

This entry was posted in Etsy and tagged .

2 comments on “What’s In A Name?

  1. […] opportunity for me to serve all the yummy British treats I discovered while studying abroad in London, and display some of the dishes, souvenirs, and decorations I have amassed since then.  Aside […]

  2. […] the chance to go on an amazing trip to Paris.  I was lucky enough to visit Paris once while I was studying abroad in London, but it was only for the weekend.  It would be wonderful to go back now that I am older and wiser, […]

Leave a Reply

